Главная Обратная связь To favorites

The world of the unknown - Onua.org

Onua.org - this site created to familiarize the user with the world of the unknown, news of technology, space discoveries and mysteries of the Earth UFO, Video , Photo, the Witnesses, the mysteries of history and ancient civilizations.
onua.org » Flora and Fauna » The identity of the "Predator X" set
To learn more about 2012
Curiosity Mission
Discovery Channel
Discovery World
Discovery Science
Animal Planet
Nat Geo WILD
National Geographic Channel
Viasat History
Viasat Explorer
News calendar

Join

Popular Onua.org
Photo
?=t('Новости аномалий и неопознанных явлений')?>
To learn more about the planet Nibiru

Предлагаем восстановить, заказать, купить диплом Вуза в любом городе России. Только настоящий бланк ГОЗНАК с гарантией.

Viewings: 3567
Личность «Хищника X» установленаPaleontologists love superlatives, otherwise the audience will not entice. From here, "the biggest", "the oldest", "the strongest and the most strange fossils.

Sometimes, alas, thirst sensation ahead of science.

"Predator X ' hunts on the plesiosaurus. Despite the abundance of such reconstructions, we know little about the way of life of pliosaurs. (Image Atlantic Productions.)

In 2009 took place the coming of the "Predator X" is a huge sea reptiles, the bite of which, allegedly, was four times stronger than that of Tyrannosaurus rex (unchanging standard for the whole prehistoric). Leviathan only came out of the earth, scientists have not yet had time to publish a description of the monster, but it has already been discussed in all the news and made a documentary (as well as art is not about him, but motives). And everyone knew that this pliosaur most dangerous predator in the history of the planet.

And only three years after media eruption "Predator X" finally had a name. In the edition of the Norwegian Journal of Geology paleontologists Espen Knutsen, Patrick Druckenmiller and Jorn hurum called him Pliosaurus funkei. But is this really the devourer ichthyosaurus Jurassic period as terrifying as it daubed?

In the years 2004-2012 employees of the University of Oslo (Norway) found on the island of Spitsbergen in the Arctic, the two largest pliosaurs - marine reptiles with short necks, giant wombs and four fins. The only material related to previously caught scientists pliosaurs, was a fragment of the caudal vertebrae, so the discovery of two instances became a sensation. "Predator X" (Predator X) drew up all the attention, and the second sample, called simply "the Beast " (The Monster), it remained only to bask in the rays of someone else's glory. However, they both belong mind Pliosaurus funkei and both allow only partially reconstruct these animals.

The surrounding area of Spitsbergen regularly freeze and thaw, so skeletons highly fragmented. Some fossils in the laboratory has dried up and spoiled even stronger. Instance, which was established species (PMO 214.135), consists of fragments of jaw, the handful of vertebrae and parts right front leg. Second, the larger the sample (PMO 214.136) is the back bone of the skull, several vertebrae and a number of unidentified fragments.

The result is to judge the size of the animals is very difficult. Their size is estimated only approximately, based on other pliosaurs. At first, it was argued that "Predator X" and "Monster" had about 15 m in length, that really made them the largest pliosaurs. At the time of publication of scientific articles specialists were more modest. Skull PMO 214.136, they write, there was a 1.8-2.5 m in length. No doubt, this is a large skull, but it is comparable with the skull of kronosaur - pliosaur found in the rocks of Cretaceous Australia and Colombia. The skull of another Pliosaurus funkei slightly less than 1,5-2 meters

Body length is another question. Many varieties of pliosaurs know only a meager remains, therefore, paleontologists remain estimations on the basis of the bones, the size of which can probably be multiplied by a factor, and thereby to obtain the length of the body. By measuring what is left of your spine, Mr. Knutson and his colleagues came to the conclusion that Pliosaurus funkei reached approximately 10-13 m

In the absence of complete skeleton it is difficult to judge to what end of this range was located a new species. But even in the long case "Predator X" and "the Beast" have not been Champions. Now they describe as some of the largest.

No doubt, it was awesome predator, which was at the top of the food chain, but about the power bite the authors not even stutter: skull to be incomplete. Moreover, the researchers urge to continue with caution approach to the description of such instances.

Prepared according to Wired.
Com-Eva: 0 Author: admin
You are reading news Личность «Хищника X» установлена if You liked the article Личность «Хищника X» установлена, prokomentiruet her.
an html link to the article
BB-link to the article
Direct link to the publication

Add comment

Главная Обратная связь В избранное

Мир непознанного - Onua.org

Onua.org - этот сайт создан с целью ознакомления пользователя с миром непознанного, новостями технологий, космических открытий и загадок нашей планеты Земля, НЛО, Видео , Фото, Очевидцы, Загадки истории и древних цивилизаций.
onua.org » Флора и Фауна » Личность «Хищника X» установлена
Узнать больше о 2012 годе
Миссия Curiosity
Discovery Channel
Discovery World
Discovery Science
Animal Planet
Nat Geo WILD
National Geographic Channel
Viasat History
Viasat Explorer
Календарь новостей

Присоединяйтесь

Популярное на Onua.org
ФОТО
?=t('Новости аномалий и неопознанных явлений')?>
Узнать больше о планете Нибиру
Просмотров: 2192
Личность «Хищника X» установленаПалеонтологи любят превосходные степени, ведь иначе публику не увлечёшь. Отсюда «самые большие», «самые старые», «самые сильные» и «самые странные» окаменелости.

Иногда, увы, жажда сенсации обгоняет науку.

«Хищник X» охотится на плезиозавра. Несмотря на обилие подобных реконструкций, мы мало знаем об образе жизни плиозавров. (Изображение Atlantic Productions.)

В 2009 году состоялось пришествие «Хищника X» — огромной морской рептилии, укус которой, как утверждалось, был в четыре раза сильнее, чем у Tyrannosaurus rex (неизменного эталона для всего доисторического). Левиафан только вышел из земли, учёные ещё не успели опубликовать описание чудовища, но о нём уже говорили во всех выпусках новостей и сняли документальный фильм (а также художественный — не про него, но по мотивам). И все знали, что это плиозавр, самый страшный хищник в истории планеты.

И только через три года после медийного извержения «Хищник X» наконец-то получил имя. В издании Norwegian Journal of Geology палеонтологи Эспен Кнутсен, Патрик Друкенмиллер и Йорн Хурум назвали его Pliosaurus funkei. Но действительно ли этот пожиратель ихтиозавров юрского периода так страшен, как его малевали?

В 2004−2012 годах сотрудники Университета Осло (Норвегия) нашли на острове Шпицберген в Арктике двух крупных плиозавров — морских рептилий с короткими шеями, гигантскими утробами и четырьмя ластами. Единственным материалом, относящимся к ранее попавшимся учёным плиозаврам, был фрагмент хвостового позвонка, поэтому обнаружение сразу двух экземпляров стало сенсацией. «Хищник X» (Predator X) отвлёк на себя всё внимание, а второму образцу, окрещённому просто «Чудовищем» (The Monster), оставалось лишь греться в лучах чужой славы. Тем не менее оба они принадлежат виду Pliosaurus funkei и оба позволяют лишь частично реконструировать этих животных.

Окрестности Шпицбергена регулярно замерзают и оттаивают, поэтому скелеты сильно фрагментированы. Некоторые окаменелости в лаборатории высохли и испортились ещё сильнее. Экземпляр, по которому устанавливали видовую принадлежность (PMO 214.135), состоит из фрагментов челюсти, кучки позвонков и частей правой передней конечности. Второй, более крупный образец (PMO 214.136) — это кости задней части черепа, несколько позвонков и ряд неопознанных фрагментов.

В результате судить о размерах животных очень сложно. Их габариты оценены лишь приблизительно, основываясь на других плиозаврах. Поначалу утверждалось, что «Хищник X» и «Чудовище» имели около 15 м в длину, что и впрямь делало их крупнейшими плиозаврами. К моменту публикации научной статьи специалисты стали скромнее. Череп PMO 214.136, пишут они, был 1,8−2,5 м длиной. Спору нет, это крупный череп, но он сопоставим с черепом кронозавра — плиозавра, обнаруженного в породах мелового периода Австралии и Колумбии. Череп другого Pliosaurus funkei чуть меньше — 1,5−2 м.

Длина тела — другой вопрос. Множество разновидностей плиозавров известно лишь по скудным останкам, поэтому палеонтологам остаются прикидки на основании костей, размер которых, вероятно, можно умножить на некий коэффициент и тем самым получить длину тела. Измерив то, что осталось от позвоночника, г-н Кнутсен и его коллеги пришли к выводу, что Pliosaurus funkei достигал приблизительно 10−13 м.

В отсутствие полного скелета трудно судить, на каком конце этого диапазона располагался новый вид. Но даже в самом длинном случае «Хищник X» и «Чудовище» не были рекордсменами. Теперь их описывают как одних из самых крупных.

Вне всякого сомнения, это был устрашающий хищник, находившийся на вершине пищевой цепи, но о силе укуса авторы статьи даже не заикаются: череп-то неполный. Более того, исследователи призывают впредь с осторожностью подходить к описанию подобных экземпляров.

Подготовлено по материалам Wired.
Ком-ев: 0 Автор: admin
Вы читаете новость Личность «Хищника X» установлена если Вам понравилась статья Личность «Хищника X» установлена, прокоментируйте ее.
html-cсылка на публикацию
BB-cсылка на публикацию
Прямая ссылка на публикацию

Добавьте комментарий